profile picture

Client Recommendations

 

Early on in my career as a Realtor, I was referred to Mt. Vernon as a home inspection service that was better than the norm. After 7 years in the business, I can say that Mt. Vernon is far better than 'above the norm'. They are remarkably thorough, candid, and extremely well-informed. As well, both Harold & Craig are great communicators, putting sometimes complicated scenarios into perspective and relaying their findings in clear and easy to understand language; and with a welcome touch of humor too! In an industry full of uncertainty, it's comforting to know that my buyers can be sure about having the best home inspectors available. I recommend them without a moment’s hesitation.  

BJ Ray

 

Report Date:  December 2009

I would like to thank Harold Popp for conducting a thorough, detailed and complete inspection of the home my wife and I are purchasing in Newton, MA. Harold not only identified issues and potential issues with the house, he also provided an education about how houses are built and they should be maintained. Harold identified several issues in the house that we subsequently raised with the sellers. We were able to adjust the purchase price to reflect these issues. A prior inspector had not identified these same issues. Harold's thorough inspection saved us thousands of dollars. We now feel much more comfortable purchasing this home. As first time homebuyers, we needed an inspector that we trusted and explained in detail the inspection process, and Harold provided us with both. Thanks for all your help. Sincerely, Jaimie H.

Report Date:  May 2009

Mr. Craig Popp,  Back in May you performed a pre-purchase home inspection for my wife and I.  Our offer had been accepted by the bank and I was ready to move forward with the purchase.  I was not able to travel to MA so I hired your firm to perform a home inspection.  Based on your report I revised my offer to the bank, sadly, at the time, the revised offer was rejected and the bank went with another offer.

Today, October, I found out the home has been condemned and has be be completely torn down.  It is unfortunate that the buyer did not use your firm as you have helped save me a ton of time, money and frustration.

Your professionalism and attention to detail was very much appreciated and very fortuitous for my wife and I.  As i continue to look for a home I will always bring your firm in to evaluate and consult.

Again thank you, Michael B, Lakeside CA

 

Report Date: July 21, 2009

Harold, Steve and I wanted thank you for your very thorough and complete home inspection last July 21.  The leak you identified from the boiler turned out to be a crack in the fire box and we all understand how potentially threatening that could be.

We negotiated an adjustment with the buyer to replace the boiler and are enjoying our new home.

Thanks again, John and Steve

 

Report Date: June 08, 2009

Mt. Vernon performed a pre-purchase home inspection for a circa 1890's brick row home in Dorchester, MA. Flawless experience with Mt. Vernon. I have bought and sold several properties over the years, and have had attendant inspections; Mt. Vernon's was the absolute best in terms of professionalism, thoroughness, and technical competency of the work. I can wholeheartedly recommend their services. Thanks for a great job!

 

Report Date: March 12, 2009

I left a message on Sunday and got a call back that same day from Harold. We discussed times for the inspection and agreed on the following Tuesday afternoon. We spent about 3 hours in the house reviewing everything. He completed his report then and there so I had it immediately. Harold was very personable and easy to deal with. He struck a good balance between exposing the flaws of the house and putting them in the context of what is reasonable to expect in this age of house. This was a 1250 sq foot cape that needs a lot of work. I had a few questions several days after the inspection, and when I called he again was very informative and helpful.

 

Report Date: October 09, 2008

Mr. Popp performed a thorough inspection of a 100+-year-old home we were under agreement to purchase. His services included inspection of interior and exterior of the home, and included pest inspection and radon test.

We were very pleased with Mr. Popp's services. He was flexible in accommodating our schedule, and he arrived early for the appointment. He is very thorough and stops to explain the details of his findings throughout the process, in layman's terms. In the course of his inspection he uncovered a number of serious issues with the house, including major termite damage and serious electrical and plumbing issues. Based on the issues he uncovered, we ultimately decided to not purchase the home, and we are glad we had the info he provided before signing on the dotted line.

 

Report Date: August 11, 2008

Thorough inspection, top to bottom. I'm a first time home buyer and Craig Popp took the time to explain everything he was doing. There were several tips for things to look out for and keep an eye on as responsible future home owners. I felt well informed and knew exactly what I needed to do to proceed with my purchase. Craig noted some serious concerns with the property and recommended further inspection/evaluation by an engineer. This advice saved us from a $30,000 repair!! There is evidence that the property had been inspected at least 2 other times in the past 5 years and this fault was not noted at all. He was courteous, unbiased, and extremely professional. I will certainly recommend him to friends in the future.

 

Report Date: July 14, 2008

I was referred to Harold (owner of Mt. Vernon Inspection Associates) through the real estate broker with my 1st purchase in 2005. At the time, Harold was professional and very detailed. I highly recommend him. In 2008, we call Harold again for inspection on another home. Again, we were completely satisfied with the service; very detailed and thorough. In addition to the inspection, he likes to describe many of the small details about the house, which is very comforting for a new home owner. Harold does check the appliances and provides a written report on site. Lastly, he was available after the inspection to answer additional questions. I highly recommend Mt. Vernon Inspection Associates.

 

 

Report Date: May 28, 2007

We had a home inspection done on a house on which we had just signed an "Offer to Purchase."

It was great...Craig Popp was there even before I got there (and I got there 10 minutes early), and he had already inspected the grounds and started taking notes. He explained potential issues and minor problems to us, and made helpful suggestions. We're first-time homebuyers, and it was great to have someone make us feel so at ease with such a huge purchase. I'll definitely be recommending him to anyone who will listen!

 

Report Date: May 21, 2006

Harold works with his son, Craig. They are both very professional, polite, friendly, punctual people. We have used them once before too. They do a thorough job and provide detailed information - helpful if you are new at buying older homes. Harold answers every question you have and makes you feel confident of the house you are going to own. We would recommend them without question.